Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-01-15 - 10:41 a.m.

I have only a few things on my TO DO list. The problem is that they are the DAUNTING ones to me... I have already procrastinated by accomplishing all the little tasks.

Finished:
*Scheduled Dentist appts for little ones.

*Scheduled a long overdue Dr appt for me to have my thyroid funcioning evaluated! I heard a radio show on NPR (maybe a year ago now?) about Hypothroidism and was struck by two things:
1. Most of the list of symptoms discussed sounded very much like my mother's health issues YEARS AGO (Before she was diagnosed with Lymphoma) I may have discussed this with her since that show.... I know I intended to... as I wondered if the symptoms in the end were related to her cancer and I wondered if she ever had her thryoid horomone's checked. She had discovered the lymphoma by a routing breast exam which revealed a lump near her armpit in one of her breasts. This was over ten years ago noe! She had the lump removed and went through Chemotherapy and remined in remission for eight years at which point it flared up again, was treated aggressively again, and she has now been in remission once again for the past few years. I wondered if thryoid could be related to cause of some cancers.... just an uneducated question I have.

AND
2. Many of hypothryoidism symptoms also sounded suprisingly like ME!

SO I intended to look into this-- BUT FORGOT,,,, (one of the symptoms is memory problems which I most severely have delt with for years....)

I was reminded of the possibility of a thryoid problem again when Westley was commenting on the RIDICULOUS clumps of hair that are falling out of my head when I brush it! He noticed this is MORE than usual...
I thought maybe I should look up hair loss.

(But forgot)

Then one day when "surfing" I followed some link to a parenting site... then a breastfeeding site which had a poll

HAVE YOU EXPERIENCED ANY OF THE FOLLOWING:

LOW MILK SUPPLY
OVERABUNDANT MILK SUPPLY..... etc....

I clicked the low milk in participation, then followed a link about that topic which indicated low milk is often caused by-- you guessed it: hypothroidism! So I read about it and noted another symptom: hair loss Hmmmm.....

* Mailed out a VERY LATE wedding gift that was sitting on my desk for at least a few months! This is for my Canisius College friend Deana who got married in July just a few weeks before my new baby was born. I therefore missed her wedding. I procrastinated mailing the gift because once I completed the task of getting it, I cleaned my desk of clutter (including the wedding invite) and later realized I DON"T KNOW HER HUBBY's LAST NAME! So I thought it silly to mail the package just to their given names, with no sirname-- but that's what I finally did! (TO wait to e-mail her would have I'm sure resulted in the thing sitting here yet another month and I finally got sick of seeing it!)

*Acomplished a few small tasks my hubby asked me to do- EX: endorsed and mailed a check for him.... nothing too exciting or substantial

*RE-submitted a poem to a contest which was so kind to e-mail me that my initial submission via an e-mail attachment couldn't be opened! (VERY KIND OF THEM TO LET ME RE-SUBMIT!!)

AND NOW THE LIST OF THINGS I AM STILL PROCRASTINATING OVER:

*Sorting through the farm business ledger and writing up an invoice for the local Orchard who never paid us in full for the produce we sold there this summer/fall! I 'd like to think its because they are as disorganized with their finances in running their business as I am.... and not because they are dishonest! They are good farmers but pretty horrid at that whole business thing (Marketing and Customer service as well) I REALLY HAVE PROCRASTINATED OVER THIS ONE! I have dozens of entrys detailing amounts of various items dropped off for sale, then the prices she sold the produce for, then when it wasn't selling so it was dropped adjusted prices, then the amount of produce I picked up as it was not sold and no longer fresh.... etc... All these transaction details make the accounting far too difficult for family farming to REALLY be financially worth it unless you ENJOY accounting!

WE need to find another venue for selling next summer!(QUENTIN AND MICHELLE OF THE FORMER SUNSHINE FARMS IN LEESBURG WE MISS YOU!!! THEY WERE THE BEST TO WORK WITH!)

*Reconciling a pile of medical bills along with the corresponding letters from the insurance company detailing their coverage (or lack of) regarding the MANY bills we have. The cat bite that necessitated a series of rabies shots for the two year ald generated a huge pile of paperwork for me to sort through. HOW CAN ANYONE BE AN ACCOUNTANT??? I have greater insight into the mental illness of my accountant brother now..... That job would make me nuts too! I get ANXIOUS just thinking about these tasks!

Off to do something about them rather than keep procrastinating...

Putting on a DVD for the girls we got from the library. Its a disney made for TV B rate movie called Balloon Farm.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!