Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-03-05 - 5:53 p.m.

COOL NEWS!

Katerina and Soren's AUNT (their FAther's half sister) won this competition:

http://www.tvwriter.com/contests/spec/news.htm

While not mentioning WHICH one of the winners she is by name, she is THRILLED and in fact IS MOVING TO HOLLYWOOD as she got a job offer from NBC to be a writer.

YAH!!!

She is a Harvard grad and immensely talented. She is indeed a terriffic role model of why it is wise to always AIM HIGH. She applied for HARVARD thinking it was just a joke and she's never get in-- but she and another girl friend from HS BOTH got in much to their surprise!

However she SAYS that-- I think she understood that it was HEALTHY to think if it as A JOKE so she wouldn't be DISAPPOINTED-- yet in her heart she HAD THE CONFIDENCE AND BELIEF IN HER ABILITY AND WORTH TO GO THERE !

I think Katerina had the SAME type of attitude right now about the GIFTED MATH PROGRAM she was nominated by her TEACHER for. SHE ACTS AS IF ITS NOT A BIG DEAL and ACTS LIKE SHE THINKS SHE WON'T GET IN so as to not be very upset if she doesn't get in. That IS WISE in particular as she tried last year AND DID NOT MAKE THE CUT. THIS YEAR SHE HAS ACTUALLY BEEN PRACTICING MATH every day for a half hour in a few books that teach skills and concepts NOT COVERED IN SCHOOL. She has a great attitude that that study IS INTERESTING AND WORTHWHILE EVEN IF SHE DOESN'T TEST INTO THE PROGRAM!

YAH FOR HER!

NOW she told me her DAD was going to go to the meeting ABOUT the upcoming testing. I had told him to let me know when it was as I said I would send the check to cover the fee for it this year. HE DIDN'T FOLLOW UP. I thought no problem, as he went to the informational meeting LAST YEAR so I assumed he knew about whatever he needed to know.

But I am so sad that TODAY I WENT TO THE WEBSITE TO SEE ABOUT WHEN AND WHERE I NEED TO SEND THE FEE knowing it is sometime in MARCH or APRIL that they test.

AND I READ THE INFORMATION JUST TODAY THAT THE KIDS HAVE TO BE REGISTERED TO BE TESTED AND THE DEADLINE FOR REGISTRARION WAS LAST WED!!!

UGH!!!!

I FELT SO BADLY!! I WAS A SLACKER ON THIS AS MUCH AS HER DAD... I COULD HAVE MADE IT A POINT OF READING THE SITE WEEKS AGO AS I INTENDED BUT I DIDN'T

I was on the phone with her DAD when I checked out the site as I had just asked him about it....

OH WELL... I apoligized to her and told her I WILL CALL MONDAY TO SEE IF THERE IS ANY WAY SHE CAN STILL REGISTER TO TAKE THE EXAMS which are NEXT WEEKEND! THEY ADMINISTERED THEM THIS WEEKEND AS WELL!

It might be the case that the only way possible is if SOMEONE ELSE IS REGISTERED BUT DOESN'T SHOW UP AND THEY CAN CHANGE THE TESTERS NAME.... as I think some parts of the test are from testing companys etc... they actually take the math sections of the PSAT... I bet that is also being administered in full for students at the same time, so since it is from a testing company there may be no way to register her after the deadline!

I have been surfing the net the past hour killing time while tired WHEN I SHOULD BE SLEEPING, but I have to be awake to keep an eye on two girls who are home. (WESTLEY THINKS IT IS HELPFUL WHEN HE TAKES OUT THE OTHER TWO TO RUN ERRANDS! HE MISSES THE POINT THAT I STILL CAN"T SLEEP UNLESS THE GIRLS ARE ALSO ASLEEP! BUT HE MEANS WELL!)

So surfing is the way I can relaz while they watched a video (which just ended!)

I found some interesting info about my lost friend's BROTHER IN LAW I was lamenting being out of touch with recently. I think I understand a bit more of why MAYBE SHE FEELS EMBARASSMENT AND IS REALLY AVOIDING THE WORLD (Although she is not her brother in law or her sister etc.... I think this type of thing is STILL understandably hard to deal with and can make someone embarassed)

I discovered his name and info confirming it was him, about having been GUILTY OF SECURITIES FRAUD as one of four members of a BUFFFALO BASED BUSINESS that got nabbed for an unethical SCAM just a few years ago. My friend's brother in law was the CHIEF SALESMAN SHEISTER. He is lucky that only the CEO landed in jail and he accepted some plea bargin settlement with the AMAZING NY ATTORNEY GENERAL ELLIOTT SPITZER

BUSTED!

I also found her MOTHER'S INFORMATION on adoption.com where she is looking for a contact! I HAVE TRIED TO CONTACT HER VIA HER MOTHER.... and MAYBE she never got the note (it is possible as there was a TON of mail in the foyer where I left it and it looked like it was piling up while she was out of town!) HOWEVER I CAN'T ATTEMPT TO CONTACT HER THROUGH THAT SITE! I think that wouldn't be right unless I had no other way! (I mean that would be a HUGE disappointment if she thought the contact was regarding the person she is seeking!)I also think it is just a site with too much of her mother's PRIVATE information for it to be appropriate!

I also noticed that the hospital web site which HAD HER NAME LISTED NO LONGER DOES!

SO that ALSO MAKES ME THINK THAT PERHAPS I LEFT THE MESSAGE AFTER SHE HAD LEFT THAT JOB... I saw her name in the newspaper caption when her photo appeared when the hospital opened (which is how I knew she worked there!) However I think I bookmarked it AND WAITED A WHILE BEFORE I LOOKED UP THE SITE AND THEN TRIED TO CALL THE # FOR HER DEPT WHERE SHE WAS LISTED AS THE ASSISTANT!

Those things all make me HOPEFUL that perhaps she really just never got my attempts to contact her! And it makes me hopeful that having found all that information (Including the announcement of her neice's High school graduation in the school paper) that I will eventually figure out how to contact her directly again!

If I do that and she doesn't respond I will give up. But I have to give it at least one more try now that it seems possible that she just never got any of my messages!That to me is indeed good news enough as I am always happy to be in a state of hopefulness!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!