Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-03-10 - 11:05 a.m.

WHOA!!! I hadn't expected the topic of accomodation persuant to the ADA to be such an area of public DEBATE!!

It seems that MANY high achieving people do not actually seek identification and treatment of disabilities UNTIL they are finding some professional goal to be hindered by the disability. I read of this in DRIVEN TO DISTRACTION and other books regarding ADULT ADHD. I talked to my OB GYN who HIMSELF said he is clearly ADHD and talked of how he sqeaked by on his medical boards but said in his words "My score was reflective of how long I could sit still in the room to take the exam." (He has the hyperactivity element and was in the BOARDS for only a few hours of the expected eight! )

He was LUCKY to have passed and is now in the rank of the top three OB/GYN providers in LOUDOUN VA with a marvelous reputation. (I think the only reason he talked to me of HIS issue was as he is just fascinated to watch my treatment and I AM OUT OF THE AREA so I surmise he figures since I come by once a year for my annual and am not living there all the time it less likely I'll pass the word IN THAT COMMUNITY and ruin his rep! ALSO his reputation and practice are now so strong maybe he doesn't worry about that! I talked to him for YEARS about my likely ADHD however and it was only THIS YEAR when he shared his info-- likey as he WANTS me to give him the updates on how the medication is helping or not and ASKED me to do so! HE said he can't wait to hear from me NEXT YEAR as to whether it made a difference or not! BUT that's a total aside! What can I say... bear with me as this is an UNMEDICATED day in preparation for working tonight as I hope to sleep this afternoon and get the benefit on tonight's night shift! I also skipped my medication yesterday as it does have this effect of MASKING the side effects of INSOMNIA so one doesn't FEEL the need to sleep and if taken ALL THE TIME when working nights I think it can adversely affect my body as I don't get those NORMAL cues to sleep! So yesterday I PUT THE KIDS DOWN FOR NAPS and then I was out cold for almost three hours! MUCH NEEDED SLEEP! SO I balance the BENEFIT of this medicine with every few weeks having a few days I SKIP IT to actuallty let my body get that rest by REQUIRING the sleep! )

Back to today's main point: When starting to research to see WHAT ACCOMODATIONS and HELP are available for the BAR I was surprised to find there was a dominant attitude that ADULTS WHO HAVE ACHIEVED WELL ARE JUST FULL OF CRAP TO SUDDENLY ACT LIKE THEY NEED SPECIAL HELP JUST FOR A PROFESSIONAL EXAM!

Here is the NY Case which was controversial as the women asking for the accomadation HAD DYSLEXIA BUT ALSO HAD BEEN ABLE TO COMPLETE A PHD in EDUCATION!

A CONSERVATIVE THINK TANK VIEW CRITICIZING THE JUDGE WHO VAOTED FOR THE ACCOMADATION and SADLY MOCKING THE APPLICANT WHO FAILED AFTER RECEIVING THE ACCOMADATION (ALthough maybe she WOULD HAVE PASSED had she taken the test WITH THE ACCOMADATION right upon FINISHING LAW SCHOOL when she FIRST REQUESTED IT Rather than MANY YEARS LATER! I MEAN IT IS HARD TO PASS TO BEGIN WITH, BUT I THINK THE MORE TIME GOES BY FROM WHEN IN SCHOOL THE HARDER IT GETS !)

http://www.freecongress.org/centers/ld/jsmp/confirmationvotes/sotomayor.asp

http://lw.bna.com/lw/19980929/979162.htm

And here are some other links about this topic:

From a CENTER FOR DYSLEXIA CONSIDERING THIS TRAGIC THAT IT IS AN AREA OF DEBATE

http://dyslexia.mtsu.edu/modules/articles/displayarticle.jsp?id=55


An intereseting article
Organizational and Ethical Concerns
in Providing Academic Accommodations
for Learning Disabled Students in Higher Education by Nancy Mott

with a compelling yet disturbing opening line stating that

"Students with disabilities are a rapidly growing minority on university campuses"

http://www.newfoundations.com/OrgTheory/Mott721.html from an even more interesting site full of stuff about Educational policy issues. Follow the links "REturn" on that link above for more articles (and keep hitting return to find this organization's site itself which seems interesting called NEW FONDATIONS)

Well its a somwhat upsetting start to my personal research as to what assistance I CAN FIND for the BAR EXAM. I just didn't expect to see such NEGATIVITY regarding adults seeking assistance for disabilities for the first time!!

I mean at this juncture in life, these kind of accomadations are not those that cost the taxpayers money or resources! They are more like having a volunteer for an applicant to have MORE TIME for a professional exam. Not the kind of thing that even require many resources. And its not like there is a QUOTA of folks who pass professional exams. ITs not like someone WITH AN ACCOMADATION is taking a liscense away from SOMEONE ELSE... All the reasons you EXPECT people to selfishly argue against incentive programs. IN this case I see the discontent just completely surprising and only mean spirited!

In pointing this out to WESTELY he indicated that HE HAD ASSISTANCE ALL THROUGH COLLEGE. HE HAD READERS AND MORE TIME FOR EXAMS AND A FULL BLOWN DIAGNOSIS OF A NUROLOGICAL LEARNING DISABILITY (HE can't listen and exhibit motor skills at the same time!) HE pointed out that this public lack of support FOR ADULTS SEEKING ASSISTANCE is All the MORE REASON it important to have kids with learning disabilitys identified early!

I did just email SOREN'S DAD a link to NYS law which now MANDATES (as of June 2005) that kids who score BELOW 2 on the 3rd grade assessments in reading or math MUST BE EVALUATED for a learning disability. I suspect SOREN did so, as he has historically ALWAYS DONE POORLY ON ALL STANDARDIZED TESTING which ALWAYS ACHIEVING RIDICULOUSLY HIGH AS IN CLOSE TO GENIUS ON IQ TESTS and then PREFORMED OUTSTANDING IN SCHOOL. I ENCOURAGED HIS DAD TO PERSUE TESTING and will do so myself if his DAD doesn't follow up as I'd hate for him to miss opportunities due to some undiagnosed learning disability which solely affects TEST PREFORMANCE but not CLASSROOM PREFORMANCE (because of his giftedness and ability to compensate with strengths)

Time to get SADIE OFF TO SCHOOL. So will continue this research later. I hope to then find something more encouraging (as mabye PROGRAMS will offers of ASSISTNCE!)

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!