Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-05-16 - 10:37 p.m.

I got a call from my REUNION COORDINATOR Tonight! I CAN"T WAIT for my FIFTEENTH CLASS REUNION THIS SUMMER!

It was really FUNNY as he was a very good friend in college who I lost touch with. He told me he was still in touch with another guy and said "you may remember he was my roommate for all four years" and then he said that his old roommate just got together with another friend thanks to an e-mail I sent linking them back in touch as I happened to have discovered via the web that they live VERY CLOSE together.

What struck me as FUNNY about this is that I sent my one VERY GOOD friend an e-mail saying "LOOK WHAT YOUR OLD ROOMMATE IS UP TO!" and then he sent back saying he's have to get in touch with him THANKS!
But HE NEVER CORRECTED ME THAT THE OLD FRIEND WAS NOT HIS OLD ROOMMATE!( WHICH I REALIZED ONLY TONIGHT WHEN THE REAL ROOMIE CALLED ME!)
I thought it SO FUNNY that my friend so gracefully just IGNORED my mistake! THAT IS SO LIKE HIM! He is now a really successful attorney dealing with mergers and acquistions and STILL A NICE GUY not yet tainted by that profession! He and his wife send me a lovely card with photos of their kids each year.

He is that guy that was my BEST FRIEND for a few YEARS. We literally ate dinner together every night for the first two years of college. We were each others "dates" for a variety of functions but always in that very platonic comfortable best friend way.

There was only ONE TIME that we went out-- and that was LATE IN COLLEGE, I think the summer after our third year, in which we went out for ice cream and then later sat under a blanket watching WITNESS (AWESOME MOVIE) and I think for a MOMENT BOTH had this attraction BUT WE WERE BOTH JUST SO CHICKEN !! REALLY... we both just sat there thinking.... NO this can't be...one of those BEST FRIENDS moments of awkwardness of not wanting to be the one to screw it all up. So we didn't! And instead we wrote awesome letters when he was in Germany on his Fulbright , and then he sent me a letter so thirlled that he fell in love with this marvelous girl (FROM OUR SCHOOL!) and that she joined him there and they were SO IN LOVE and very serious! I was SO HAPPY FOR HIM!

(AND HER! ALthough admittedly to a lesser degree... HEE HEE HEE ;) with just a TAD bit of "WHAT IF..." jealousy....)

Anyway... WESTELY and I enjoyed a lovely time out to dinner with them when they had just had their first baby and were visiting relatives in BUFFALO and I still lived there. It would be SO NICE if they come to the reunion!
It would be SO NICE if I could CONVINCE WESTELY TO COME! BUT HE HAS SAID HE HAS NO INTEREST!
FUDDY DUD!

Anyway... My night was made when I FOUND THIS ON THE WEB TONIGHT! The connection here is of a TOTALLY DIFFERENT one than the above mentioned friends.
BUT THIS IS JUST SUCH A FANTASTIC PICTURE I HAVE TO LINK TO IT!
Good photographer EH?

http://www.foraste.com/htmls/academia.sta.ethicsprof2.html

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!