Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-09-03 - 11:02 a.m.

In a strange but hilarious irony-- I have been frustrated in trying to cancel my AOL account.

You see, when I try to find the customer service contact information-- I just can't seem to FIND IT.

That shouldn't be so hard for one with an AOL account.

But when I turned on my AOL account for the benefit of my MY SPACE STARVED Brazilian Nanny months ago, for whom internet access when she was off duty at the LIBRARY just WASN'T Cutting it... I had tremendous trouble getting the software to recognize my NEW account as anything other than GUEST user.

I had one of those FREE use with BROADBAND accounts on this machine first. But at the time as I did not have broadband it was worthless. Since I had NO internet access, I resorted to the cheapest option of AOL.

It unfortunately took SO LONG to dial up and was so crappy that didn't save my nanny from leaving. She was too disconnected and dying here in this place. So she left anyway saying she loved us but couldn't live in this house any more. She kept saying there was something about this house that made her unhappy.

Since then I have used the AOL account less than a dozen times. Each time just to TRY to find customer service info and cancel it. I did find customer service once months ago and spent a good 45 minutes trying to fix the problem of not being able to download the software and set up my user name as the primary one-- to no avail.

So now once again I tried. So far this is the only thing that I have found:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/13447232/

Along with many OTHER somewhat ironic commentarys and articles on the topic.

WHERE OH WHERE IS A LINK IN THIS USER INTERFACE FOR AOL CUSTOMER SERVICE?? I KNOW YEARS AGO IT WAS EASIER TO FIND!

I think the whole thing somewhat amusing...

However not worth the $25 a month for a good laugh.
Off to seek out customer service, and if all else fails laugh a bit at the articles I find until I have no more time to expend on this quest as duty to my girls calls.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!