Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2018-04-09 - 9:57 p.m.

Dang

I hate sometimes knowing too much.

Like knowing what fetal alcohol syndrome looks like.

I see baby and toddler pictures posted of my friends' kids and I know which mothers may have some issue with alcohol-

at the very least, it is apparent which mother's exposed their child to alcohol.

So its kinda this sick to my stomach feeling of upset when the posters are old friends, now acquaintences, and not anyone I am in close contact with (or any contact other than FB) to have the frank but difficult conversation a true friend who have in reaching out to see if the person might have a possible issue with alcohol and want some support.


Yet there's this:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-4452064/Six-mothers-kids-fetal-alcohol-syndrome.html

But it just upsets me as the same mom posts about the educational challenges of an older child, and the new baby has the same distinctive features..


So it kinda breaks my heart

and motivates me to read a bit

https://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/arh25-3/159-167.htm

and I guess just say a prayer as there is nothing more I could possibly do which would be appropriate or helpful.

Kinda like when in college I dared say something to the gal who was dating a dude I happened to have KNOWN contracted hepatitic c from intravenous drug use....

some things one just WISHES one never knew about.


She was newly engaged.... and I was her RA...
and I was pretty sure she did not know his habits...

and I just felt like it would be WRONG in that case to let a very naive young woman go forth and MARRY a young man who was known for a fact (it was from a fraternity brother who was close to him...and conflicted in telling a girlfriend I think....and then you know,the RA hears all it seems....)

so then I did say something. But I had an actual RELATIONSHIP with the gal at the time, albeit an acquaintence type-- not her close friend, but her college resident assistant(RA) so I was actively in her world at some capacity closer than and old FB Friend!

A friend I WAS Very close to once that I now never see!!

Well. Off to bed.
I had a decent day working at home however could have used three more hours in my work day to quietly be uninterrupted and get my work done.

I couldn't work late as had to take one teen out to buy a sports bra she needs for tomorrow. I am excited this teen has interest in a bona fide physical activity that will keep her healthy and moving a few times a week.

Off to bed. Time to turn off the router and boot the other teen who instead of helping with chores asked watched much of the first season of Game of Thrones today.

I found the boxed set of Season one and have heard such good things
ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ll

LOL That was falling asleep....

on the keyboard...

Goodnight

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!