Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-03-08 - 2:18 p.m.

As expected I got a call from the Director of Transportation who said someone was interested in meeting me. (I don't exactly recall who-- Sup of Schools? whoever)

She said that there was a TYPO on the web site and it should have read .50 rather than .05 and that district policy is that kids can walk up to a half mile to a bus stop.

I said in response to the meeting request "Why to spin our wheels? And what is his agenda? I really have no interest in meeting anyone, at this point but am interested in the copy of the policy."

I basically am not interested in doing anything other than IN WRITING at this point as it would be a clear waste of my time.

She said she would mail me a copy of the policy. (RIGHT)

I also then went back to the web site to read:

"All students may walk up to .05 tenths of a mile to the nearest designated bus stop. "

I called back to talk to her and she was "busy" so I left this message for the secretary:

"TELL HER THAT I LOOKED AT THE WEB SITE AGAIN. HAD IT BEEN THE CASE OF A SIMPLE TYPO OF A point ZERO FIVE RATHER THAN A POINT FIVE ZERO I MIGHT BELIEVE HER, HOWEVER SINCE THE SITE HAS THE WORD TENTHS WRITTEN OUT IN FULL INDICATING THAT THE DISTRICT POLICY IS KIDS CAN WALK .05 TENTHS OF A MILE I FIND HER EXPLAINATION HARD TO BELIEVE THANK YOU"

And I hung up.

ADVERSARIAL?

YOU BET.

I think that will make a STRONGER STATEMENT and make it MORE LIKELY that they take me seriously than if I go in and listen to them spin crap. I don't see how it would be helpful for me to meet WHOEVER in person and then tell them they are full of crap IN PERSON. Why bother? I am personally more comfortable doing that in writing. (That's the reason people hire lawyers! To insulate themself from the unpleasant business of having to make people fact TRUTHS and cut through their BS. If I have to do it myself as my own representative I would rather not have to do it WITH KIDS IN TOW but will be more effective IN WRITING)

I don't know if it was WISE To deny a requested meeting but I really think it is. At this point I don't intend to have any meeting until they respond to me in writing. I am not going to allow any opportunity to hear crap and BS and not have them ACTUALLY respond to the REAL ISSUE.

To me it is not negotiable. They can follow laws of NY in providing transportation and I think it is very clear that a stop that is too far for a five year old to safely walk to IS NOT MEETING THAT REQUIREMENT.

I found the full NY LAW SITE AND have been reading it. I need to also look up case law to see if the issue of what is actually REASONABLE distance for a stop to be has been clarified.

If it hasn't, for an eighty dollar filing fee it would be well worth clarifying.

Which is ANOTHER reason I have no intention of meeting anyone. Why waste time? Either they are going to fix the problem or not. If they aren't then the issue can be looked at in the court which gets to decide how to apply law. I am not interested in wasting time dragging the girls around UNNECESSARILY and would rather be efficient and get the DISTRICT'S ACTUAL response then act accordingly so that I can then proceed with the next step.

So we'll see if I get a copy of the amorophous policy that states buses can't stop on our main road (but not the WHOLE MAIN ROAD as they do so a bit further down in front of the day care)

I don't REALLY expect to get it as I surmise it DOESN'T REALLY EXIST.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!