Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-11-26 - 9:22 p.m.

I have a map of the world in my basement from Doctors Without Borders which indicates where they have a presence. I intend to someday explain to my kids what that organization does. Tonight I checked out thier web site and came across this article about pediatric medication for AIDS:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Doctors-Without-Borders-Medecins-Sans-Frontieres-MSF/33110852384#/note.php?note_id=52848721140

I feel very blessed that this Thanksgiving I am able to pick up Katerina and Soren from the airport, and that on Friday all my children will enjoy the day together.

The article above made me thankful that we are all in good health. I can't imagine how difficult it has to be for the many families in Africa where the AIDS epidemic is still devastating, to have to care for children who are born with that disease.

It helps put things into perspective for me when I realize that although I struggle financially, I am fortunate to have a good job, a lovely home, and all our basic needs met every day. Even though we might not have extras, we are not lacking any necessities. That indeed is a very good thing. Additionally, we all have our health which is something I think many take for granted until it is threatened. I am grateful to now be able to curl up in my warm soft bed with my new comforter and sleep soundly! These are the simple things I am thankful for this Thanksgiving.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!