Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2014-07-28 - 10:05 a.m.

My song writing skills are about as nascent as my study skills were a few years ago. ( I really did study philosophy and literature for a reason- No need to buy textbooks as they were all in the library so that seemed a good fiscal decision, and on top of that writing papers was the norm! What a way to have a heck of a lot of fun in college! Reading and writing... )

So I am enjoying humoring myself as I work on memorizing that black letter law.

Just for sheer fun (as honestly this is not a weak area for me, but I couldn't resist when I came across the PNUMOMIC "Marla C Beff" as a memory aid for remembering which crimes are specific intent crimes) I am enjoying my rendition of
Marla C Beff , weaving in as many crimes and elements of crimes as I can- in a silly ballad akin to a law exam fact pattern.

to the tune of "Mack the Knife". Here is what I think is one of the most fun versions of Mack the Knife I found:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IW0RgtRLd1k


"

I just imagine the cleaning crew outside my hotel room might just might figure I am a bit crazy if they heard me singing. * Formatting not transferred when this was cut and pasted, so here this is, in the style of "good enough", albeit not perfect. "Marla the Knife" - Oh that Marla�s got a voice, dear Hypnotizing ,flashing pearly whites But its her eyes dear, that cause danger They say the banker loses sense, dear under FALSE PRETENSES forgets his wife - Story goes dear , he didn�t notice security camera No longer blinked with light Or the safe key Had gone missing from his home from LARCENY that Saturday night - Was no BURGLAR In his dwelling, as the moon shone its light Nor was it RAPE when that swelling filled both with delight - Somehow Marla was convinced, so they say dear when she lay there by invite That the banker had been criminal EMBEZZLING her heart in the night - They say as Marla signed the ledger FORGERY, name not her own That poor banker never knew that He�d never be going home - Fancy gloves worn So there's never, never a trace there On the safe she cleared out Or the match she left behind - Flames flew from ARSON, that Sunday mornin inside a body oozin' life Someone seen sneakin' round that corner Could that MURDERER be Marla Beff? - Oh there's a tugboat down, down by the river dontcha know Where a cement bag's just a'drooppin' on down Cause its CONSPIRACY, not just ATTEMPT, dear Five'll get ya ten old Marla's spellbound this town - Now d'ja hear 'bout Louie Miller? He disappeared, babe After drawin' out all his hard-earned cash Now MacHeath spends, he spends like a sailor Could that boy have done somethin' rash? - Saturday night here, Band is swingin dislaimer at the door run for your life Warning Rumors �bought the singin Say Marla�s eyes cut like a knife - Ahhhh Jenny Diver, ho, Sukey Tawdry Ooh, Miss Lotte Lenya and old Lucy Brown Oh, the line forms on the right, babe Now that Marla's back in town - I said Jenny Diver, whoa, Sukey Tawdry Miss Lotte Lenya and old Lucy Brown Oh, the line forms on the right, babe Now that Marla C Buff's back in town Look out, old Marla�s back!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!