Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2022-05-02 - 9:45 p.m.

I am reading on the Ethics of leaks to the press.

THAT Is a topic I find of interest.

I just don't understand why it would serve ANYONE to leak a drafted Supreme Ct opinion.

A draft is not a final opinion and the court has ability of each member to draft a view and a dissenting view.

So the document leaked actually is not necessarily final

Its a draft

Does it serve anyone prior to a court deciding for public scrutiny while the justices do their job of critical analysis and decisioning?

They have MANY Attorney and legal staff supporting them in considering all sides of an argument.

I worked as as aide to a court at one point. I saw the number of attorneys providing memorandum of understanding
and synopsis of precendent
analysis of cases both in the jurisdiction and other alalogous decision in other jurisdictions which had enough similar elements of facts to review their decisions and the legal theory and reasoning behind them.

I am more disgusted frankly at the breach of sharing a draft doc ostensibly from supreme court justices than the content.

Because before any decision there can be many iterations and we have no idea what the FINAL decision should be.

So there is little point in looking at this interim draft critically

Although of course I READ It

I just feel like to release it serves no one and just adds MORE Stress onto the justices.

What I think is the most awful thing about this is that I think (regardless of the case at issue and regardless of whether it were a case being widely followed affecting many or NOT followed much cause affects few-
PEOPLE ALL HAVE SOME ELEMENT OF PRIDE

I IMAGINE a Supreme Court Justice would as well.... I mean WHAT IF in continuing discerenment a Justice who just had fleshed out their initial thoughts then spent the next six weeks digging deeper and had a change of their own opinion based on the reserach and advisement and what they discovered

If the decision had been leaked to be public

WOULD that JUSTICE not be fully human and not want to look like he or she was not sure of their decision

as it would look just AWFUL if the final decision was not congruent cause the justice CHANGED THEIR MIND
and CHANGED THIER DECISION
AFTER FURTHER RESEARCH AND ANALYSIS

EVEN if that were a very SOUND and RATIONAL and honestly the SMARTEST and MOST ACCURATE INTERPERTATION OF THE LEGAL ISSUES RAISED

EVERY PERSON HAS SOME SENSE OF PRIDE

and would know to change mind will be looked upon as a FOOL

So what is the agenda?

Is there also a reason that the leak will make it such that the court CAN NOT HEAR A CASE in which a decision was leaked?

WIll it then force the court to pull it off the docket as then the decisioning can not be impartial and influenced??

I mean WHAT IS THE AGENDA OF THE LEAK???

IT so manipulative to me either way

To try to force the hand of the decision being codified
OR to try to get the case thrown out of the court.

I feel like Jounalism has a lost sense of ethics.

I don't even want to discuss the content of this issue being raised by the case.

I can rant about what I think about that another time.
I am just appalled at how this will affect the process of the case itself and don't understand
UNLESS

there really is a fake war as
UKRAINE already is actual a NATO nation
and everyone knows it
so the bizarre rational of going to war by Putin was not really informed by anything other than

our country politics

deflect to then overturn Roe v WADE as no one was paying attention

as MASSIVE KILLING OF UKRANIANS was horriffic

and the country looked at that

so
the deflection was by design?

Then the reason to leak by POLITICO is they believe this theory and they believe they are SO RIGHT in compelling people to action so ROE V WADE is not overturned

crazy theories all round

Regardless of what anyone believes motivates

it to me still is such a shame that there is no confidence in our system
no respect for our government
no trust
and truth in media has been so eroded

that media becomes a tool for manipulation and propoganda

and the tool to CREATE The story

rather than REPORT THE STORY

MAYBE THAT HAS ALWAYS THE CASE AND I WAS JUST NAIVE TO IT?

this might sound silly and foolish

but that is likely the truth

because I feel so disappointed

WE are literally witnessing the collapse of our social contract

THere is no social contract based on actual trust

OR there was never one and it was a social contract that applied selectively

I just think it is a bad sign and it is disturbing to me.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Beautiful weekend. - 2022-05-22

%%older_entries%%

Lungs hurt - 2022-05-17

%%older_entries%%

Busy two weeks with family. Then time with Art. Magical - 2022-05-14

%%older_entries%%

Enabling? He'll no - 2022-05-13

%%older_entries%%

Grief - 2022-05-07

%%older_entries%%