Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2023-05-28 - 12:38 p.m.

My bestie back in town for the weekend only. She traveled with one of her oldest childhood girlfriends who wanted to share a cross country adventure.
For me her presence means not only do I get out and socialize more than typical but also that I don't have to bike as much or catch a Lyft as she has hustled rides for m😆 🤣 this is so her!
Busses don't run here on weekends. But she is the ultimate people connector. She asks one friend of hers to help another friend of hers ALL THE TIME and looks for ways to connect those with shared interests. That genuinely brings her joy, helping others. She has some boundary issues 4 sure but this is where her unique lack of normal boundaries is a gift to others.
So I met her and he lovely daughter to go out with them last night. We met few friends of theirs as we stopped from place to place checking out the various live music around town. Nice there were a few outdoor spaces on such a lovely evening with live music. Rock in one, a folk singer somewhere else, a pianist singing Piano Man to a group of happy drunks. She us a trip to hang with. She Saud " Let's go for the smorgasbord of music. Just a little if this, then a little of that. So en route to meeting one friend and her daughter ( we were walking. I left my bike at her daughter's place which is right in this same town I work in), she grabbed my hand and led me on the mini adventure. This is one of the things I actuslly love doing with her when up for it- just saying. " OK you lead" and letting her be the free spirit she is and accompany her. She has often done this thing of making plans on a Fri night with more than one friend, or going to more than one event. Some pick one thing. She will show up for a bit then leave to go to the next thing. It's like she craves this freedom of movement and not being tied down. Serious high energy. We don't drink when we go out but for once in a while. It's nice to support the businesses so we typically have some food ordered.
I did enjoy a glass of wine once we settled in to really sit and enjoy connecting with her daughter and a friend.

Of course before the night ended she had an old friend ( trustworthy, not drinking , who is kind) drive me home. I am welcome to crash at her daughter's but they have a dog there and I don't want to impose.

Grateful for the rides. 10 miles yesterday was enough for this weekend. Then having a day or two of rest will be nice before riding again in a couple or few days.

�

�

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

WHEW yeah work came in. - 2023-05-31

%%older_entries%%

Holding off on car, even the nice Volvo. - 2023-05-30

%%older_entries%%

Seller called Ebay and took care of refund! - 2023-05-30

%%older_entries%%

Found a good company car after all pretty quickly. - 2023-05-30

%%older_entries%%

This happens once In a blue moon 🌙 thankfully not often. - 2023-05-29

%%older_entries%%