Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-01-01 - 8:12 p.m.

"Genius is only the power of making continuous effort. The line between failure and success is so fine that we scarcely know when we pass it.... How many a man has thrown up his hands at a time when a little more effort, a little more patience, would have achieved success? As the tide goes out, so it comes clear in. A little more persistance, a little more effort, and what seemed hopeless failure may turn into glorious success. There is really no failure except in no longer trying. There is no defeat except from within, no really insurmountable barrier save our own inherent weakness of purpose."

Elbert Hubbard


I read the above quote on a Celestial Seasons box of Honey Camomile Tea which I relaxed with this morning.
Elbert Hubbard was one of the Roycrafters who settled in East Aurora, New york, outside of Buffalo, in the Artist Community. They were largely artists best know as a representative group of the Arts and Crafts style. My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the hotel The Roycroft Inn a few times. One such visit was a stay there for my Law School Graduation from the University at Buffalo in 2000. Its truly one of my favorite places in Western New York. We really were inspired by the decor there and had decided our long term goal is to have a family done in the same style of arts and craft furniture and decor- our testamony to love of Central and Upstate NY- with Stickly furniture (if we can afford it!) WE in fact at one point back in the heyday were about to purchase a set for the dining room. Instead we paid the IRS as the brokers hadn't taken out all the taxes we THOUGHT they had..... in any case, it was a nice dream, and it remains as a lovely one which gives us a wonderful goal to continue to work and save toward. We did visit an amazing furniture maker's shop and have his card as he could make us the large table we can't find anywhere else! So if we EVER finish the grand expansion (its in progress.... perpetually a work in progress,,,,) we'll then work toward those decor goals.
It will be interesting to see what dreams of this come to fruition over the years.
I am pleased we have accomplished what we have done thus far!

ANyway, I have a lovely book of hand written Elbert Hubbard sayings that my hubby found for me on one of our trips to NY when he stopped at an old amazing used book store well off the beaten path. It was one of those hidden treasures he discovered while in grad school doing his research on the history of NY Normal Schools. I waited in the car with the kids while he ran in to see if there was anything of interest and he came back with the book for me. Its quite beautiful.

I've been seeeking things to E-Bay in order to have funds to pay my attorney for the custody case in Buffalo. Westley reminded me of the book and said I'd likely get a good amount for it. (I'm sure its worth far more on E-Bay than he paid in the little known NY bookstore a few years back.) I responded, "That's not something I want to sell."

I in fact am going to take it out for my bedtime reading tonight. I look forward to it as I wonder what other inspiring words to live by are in it. Its not only Hubbards writing, but quotes HE chose to copy in this book filled with HIS PICKS of WORDS TO LIVE BY! It's a beautiful book!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!